Archbishop Lori’s Homily: St. Josemaria Escriva

“The story of St. Josemaria’s spiritual awakening is well known. He was already a good priest, well-trained and faithful as well as prayerful. Yet, the Lord had something more in mind for this beloved son of his. Thus it was that, while on a streetcar in the midst of Madrid’s sound and fury Father Josemaria Escriva heard the voice of God the Father. Although he had been unable to pray in the quiet of his church only hours earlier, now in the noise of the city, surrounded by people on their way to work, he suddenly experienced the Fatherhood of God as never before. From his priestly heart prayer poured forth – simple yet profound – ‘Padre!’ ‘Pater!’ ‘Abba!’ ‘Father!’

“That story means a lot to me. Like yourselves, I am immersed in the busyness of the world. I often find myself in planes and trains, on noisy streets, working in an office with a hectic pace – and I know from experience –how important it is not to lose sight of God’s filial love in the midst of it all. You might be interested to know that I prepared this very homily in a courthouse, sitting in a waiting room as a potential juror, waiting for my number to be called. The thought crossed my mind – not an eloquent thought but a true one nonetheless –’Your number has already been called! You have been chosen to be a child of God!’ With that I found myself at peace in an atmosphere that was anything but peaceful.”

Read the complete homily HERE.

Leave a comment