Archbishop Lori’s Homily: Ordination of Kevin Ewing to the Priesthood

“Dear friends, we’ve gathered in joy to pray with and for Deacon Kevin Ewing as today he is ordained to the priesthood for the Archdiocese of Baltimore. Today’s ordination takes place on the Solemnity of the Birth of St. John the Baptist and so we ask this great saint not only to intercede for us but also to help us reflect on the beautiful mystery about to unfold before our eyes. Please listen and pray as, in the spirit of St. John the Baptist, I offer a few words of instruction and encouragement to Deacon Kevin, now on the cusp of priestly ordination.

“And so, now, Deacon Kevin, what does this great feast of John the Baptist’s birth say to you and to us all in this grace-filled moment? Might I begin with Isaiah  where the prophet says this of himself and of John the Baptist: ‘The Lord called me from birth, from my mother’s womb he gave me my name.’ And again, ‘For now, the Lord has spoken who formed me as his servant in my mother’s womb . . . .'”

Read the complete homily HERE.

Leave a Reply

