4th Sunday of Easter, Confirmation Homily

“Dear candidates for Confirmation: Yesterday I celebrated a birthday. I turned 66. That doesn’t make me the oldest person in the world but it does mean that I have more than a few miles on my odometer – It also means that I’ve been around long enough to know something about life – and it’s a few of life’s lessons I’d like to share with you on this, the day of your Confirmation.

“So, way back when, in the late 50’s and 60’s, when I was growing up, many people thought the world was turned up-side-down. And there was a lot going on – it was a time of profound change – some changes were for the good and some have turned out to be not so good. When my generation got involved in protests against the Vietnam War and other things, people wondered how we, the baby boomers, would turn out. What kind of a world would it be with us in charge? The answer – some have led good lives and made a real contribution – and others, well, it hasn’t turned out so well.”

Read the complete homily HERE.

Leave a Reply

