Solemnity of the Annunciation Homily

“Five years ago, I was invited to dinner at the Vatican Embassy in Washington along with about twenty-five other bishops. At the time I was Bishop of Bridgeport, Connecticut. And for the record on this feast of the Annunciation, the real name of the Vatican Embassy is the Nunciature and the title of the Pope’s representative is an Archbishop known as the Nuncio. At any rate, I was thinking that after a long day of meetings, it would be pleasant to have dinner at that impressive place with my colleagues. I also thought it would be an early evening. I was looking forward to getting my z’s!

“As I greeted the Nuncio, he smiled and said, ‘Bishop, maybe I can see you later?’

“There is only one right answer to something like that, so I said, ‘Of course, Archbishop’ but ‘wondered what his greeting meant!'”

Read the complete homily HERE.

Leave a Reply

