4th Sunday of Advent, St. Mark Parish Homily

“Many years ago, when I was a newly ordained and inexperienced priest, I visited a parishioner in the hospital. She was suffering terribly, and to tell you the truth, I was lost for words. I think I stammered something about trying to find God in the midst of her suffering as I fumbled around for the Oil of the Sick and the ritual so that I could anoint her.

“Sensing my discomfort, this wonderful woman of faith, smiled at me, took my hand, and she said to me, “Oh, Father, don’t you worry about me. I’m not trying to find God in this hospital bed; he’s trying to find me. And you know what? I think he’s finally got me!” It was a “eureka” moment in my life as a Christian and as a priest. a thought I’ve returned to hundreds of times over the years in my prayer: Yes, we search for God but not half as much as God searches for us.”

Read the complete homily HERE.

Leave a Reply

